Navigation and service

You are here:

The Finance Ministry’s senior leadership

The German Federal Minister of Finance is responsible for all aspects of German fiscal and tax policy and determines the broad outline of fiscal policy. He is supported in his work by two parliamentary and two permanent state secretaries.

Pe­ter Alt­maier

Peter Altmaier, born in Ensdorf, Saar on 18 June 1958.

Man­age­ment of the Min­istry

The Finance Minister manages the department in line with the policy course set by the Federal Chancellor. The Finance Minister is the member of the German government responsible for all aspects of German fiscal and tax policy, and who determines the broad outline of economic policy.

The Ministry, with its total of nine directorates-general, provides the Minister with expert assistance in implementing his work as a member of government. The Minister also has a staff responsible for coordinating his activities and communicating his work to the public.

In the exercise of his functions as a member of government, the Minister is supported by two parliamentary state secretaries who are simultaneously members of the Bundestag, thus ensuring a constant exchange of information between the executive and the legislature. The parliamentary state secretaries focus on tax policy and budgetary matters.

The Ministry is also run by two permanent state secretaries responsible for the central services directorate-general (dealing with organisation matters and personnel) and the eight other portfolio directorates-general. The two permanent state secretaries have the task of coordinating the activities of those eight directorates-general, which is where the work to develop and implement legislation takes place.

The Ministry also has an executive team comprising the Strategy and Communication staff, the Minister’s private secretary and the Minister’s spokesperson.

The directorates-general are made up of up to four directorates (there are 24 of these in total). The directorates, in turn, are made up of divisions (there are 146 of these in total). Each division typically is comprised of a team of eight people.

Share and print page