zur Suche

You are here:

24 March 2022


Management of the task force for implementing EU sanctions appointed

The task force that has been set up by the Federal Government to implement the EU sanctions appointed its management yesterday evening at its second meeting.

The task force will be led by Dr Nina Thom, a senior public prosecutor, and Johannes Geismann, a former state secretary. Before her secondment to the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action (BMWK), Dr Thom was head of the Asset Recovery Department at Berlin Public Prosecutor’s Office. Dr Thom is an expert in the areas of asset recovery, corruption offences and money laundering. Until recently, Mr Geismann was a state secretary in the Federal Chancellery, where he held the position of commissioner for the federal intelligence services. Before that, Mr Geismann served as a state secretary in the Federal Ministry of Finance (BMF), where he was responsible for the Directorate-General for Taxation and for federal government holdings, among other things.

The Federal Government established a task force for the implementation of EU sanctions on 16 March 2022.

The BMWK and the BMF are jointly responsible for the task force, with the support of various other government bodies for specific areas. The task force was set up to ensure effective enforcement of the sanctions packages as a whole. The sanctions packages cover a wide range of areas (including export restrictions, financial and capital market restrictions, and the listing of individuals and organisations) and are continually being developed further. It is necessary to draw on the expertise of various bodies for the individual sanctions areas. In addition to the BMWK, the BMF, the Federal Ministry of the Interior and the Bundesbank, the task force will also be supported by representatives of the Federal Ministry for Digital and Transport, the Federal Ministry of Justice and the Federal Foreign Office. Additional support will be provided by subordinate authorities (including the Federal Intelligence Service, the Federal Criminal Police Office, the Federal Office for the Protection of the Constitution, the Federal Financial Supervisory Authority, the Customs Criminological Office, the Financial Intelligence Unit, the main customs offices and the Federal Office for Economic Affairs and Export Control) and the Länder.

You can find an overview of the implementation of the EU sanctions here (in German only).