Navigation and service


Hand­book: Rules on the sup­ply of ser­vices or work un­der the free­dom to pro­vide ser­vices and the free­dom of es­tab­lish­ment

Ver­sion 2012
  • Version 09 May 2012
Cover of the publication
Source:  BMF/Ilja C. Hendel
  • Version 09 May 2012

Since 1 May 2004, the following countries have been Member States of the European Union: Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia. On 1 January 2007, these were joined by Bulgaria and Romania.

In accordance with the provisions of the accession treaties, the Federal Republic of Germany opted to restrict for a transitional period the freedom of movement for workers and in certain sectors (construction, cleaning services and interior design) the freedom to provide services. Since 1 May 2011, those restrictions have ceased to apply to nationals of the Member States which joined the EU in 2004. Nationals of those Member States are now entitled to make full use of their EU rights to free movement. For nationals of Bulgaria and Romania the restrictions apply until 31 December 2011. These restrictions may be extended for one further period until the end of 2013.


  1. Definition of the fundamental freedoms
  2. Provision of cross-border services
  3. Freedom of establishment

To order a printed copy of this document, please send an e-mail to

Share and print page