The German Federal Ministry of Finance is pleased to announce the call for papers for the 2020 Franco-German Fiscal Policy Seminar (FPS), which is to take place in Berlin on 8-9 October 2020.

The annual Fiscal Policy Seminar aims to bridge the gap between academic research and policy-making. This year’s topic is:

“Economic lessons from the COVID-19 pandemic – first findings”

As a new feature this year, the Franco-German Fiscal Policy Seminar will include a keynote address. We are delighted that Michèle Tertilt from the University of Mannheim has agreed to deliver a keynote on the seminar’s main topic.

The aim of the 2020 Franco-German Fiscal Policy Seminar is to bring together innovative researchers and policy-makers to present cutting-edge academic work that can contribute to our understanding of the COVID-19 pandemic’s consequences for economic, social and health policy. We will seek to assess best practices and sketch a path forward for evidence-based decision-making in fiscal and economic policy. An additional goal of the FPS is to identify new questions for research and policy-making.

We are especially interested in submissions covering topics that include, but are not necessarily limited to, the following issues:

  • the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on households, firms, unemployment, productivity, inflation/deflation and public finances
  • business cycle stabilisation policy in and after a pandemic-driven downturn and contribution to economic re-convergence
  • reassessing global supply chains, fiscal policy and economic policy in light of the pandemic
  • the economics of a transition to a “new normal”
  • the systemic importance of health care system capacity
  • the scope and limits of cross-country comparisons of the COVID-19 pandemic and mitigation policies.

We welcome both theoretical and empirical submissions. We invite papers in English to be submitted by 15 July 2020 to: (please use the subject line: “Submission for 2020 Franco-German Fiscal Policy Seminar”). Authors of accepted papers will be notified in early August.

Travel and hotel expenses will be covered by the Federal Ministry of Finance.

As part of the seminar, the Scientific Committee will award a cash prize of €5,000 to the best paper. Successful papers will have the option of being published in the “policy watch” section of the journal International Tax and Public Finance.

Scientific Committee:

Andreas Peichl (ifo Institute and University of Munich), Chair
Agnès Bénassy-Quéré (Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne)
Ronald B. Davies (University College Dublin)
Essi Eerola (VATT Institute for Economic Research, Helsinki)
Aitor Erce (Universidad Pública de Navarra, Pamplona)
Veronika Grimm (University of Erlangen-Nürnberg)
Xavier Ragot (Sciences Po – CNRS and OFCE, Paris)
Hélène Rey (London Business School)
Moritz Schularick (University of Bonn)