The German Federal Ministry of Finance is pleased to announce the call for papers for the 2019 Fiscal Policy Seminar (FPS). The seminar will take place in Berlin on 7-8 October 2019.

The FPS, which is held on an annual basis, aims to bridge the gap between academic research and policy-making. The theme of the 2019 seminar is:

“Analysing developments in savings, investments and interest rates – reassessing the role of fiscal policies for growth and stabilisation”

The aim of the 2019 FPS is to shed light on the interplay of fiscal and financial policy and the economy with a special focus on low interest rate environments. This seminar brings together innovative researchers and policymakers to showcase cutting-edge academic work that contributes to our understanding of interactions between the macroeconomic environment and fiscal policy, financial policy and fiscal sustainability. The goal of the FPS is to identify new questions for research and policy-making.

We are especially interested in submissions covering topics that include, but are not necessarily limited to, the following fields:

  • The issue of fiscal space and (public) investment with a view to possible low interest rates over an extended period.
  • The phenomenon of high levels of savings and relatively low investment in the corporate sector.
  • How expectations regarding interest rates, inflation and government spending affect current macroeconomic dynamics.
  • Financial intermediation and stability in a low interest rate environment.
  • Fiscal sustainability and debt dynamics in the light of uncertain real interest rate developments.

We welcome both theoretical and empirical submissions. We invite papers to be submitted by 31 May 2019 to: (please use the subject line: “Submission for 2019 Fiscal Policy Seminar”).

Travel and hotel expenses will be covered by the Federal Ministry of Finance.

As part of the seminar, the Scientific Committee will award a cash price of €5,000 to the best paper. Successful papers have the option of being published in the “policy watch” section of the journal International Tax and Public Finance.

Scientific Committee:
Andreas Peichl (ifo Institute and University of Munich), Chair
Olivier Blanchard (MIT)
Ronald B. Davies (University College Dublin)
Essi Eerola (VATT Institute for Economic Research, Helsinki)
Aitor Erce (European Stability Mechanism, Luxembourg)
Isabel Schnabel (University of Bonn)
Moritz Schularick (University of Bonn)

Local organisers:
Torsten Arnswald (Federal Ministry of Finance)
Leonhard Czerny (Federal Ministry of Finance)
Jakob von Weizsäcker (Federal Ministry of Finance)